NewsLocal NewsBrooklyn


9 N-train stations in Brooklyn to close for a year starting Monday

Posted at 4:51 AM, Jan 15, 2016
and last updated 2016-01-15 09:30:15-05

NEW YORK — Work on nine stations along the N line in Brooklyn will begin next week, closing those stations for more than a year, transit officials said.

The century-old stations are between Eighth Avenue in Sunset Park and 86th Street in Bensonhurst and include:

  • 86 St, Avenue U, King Hwy, 20 Av, 18 Av, New Utretch Av, and Fort Hamilton Pkwy

Beginning 5:01 a.m. Monday, the stations' Manhattan-bound platforms will be closed for 14 months, or until spring 2017, according to the MTA. After that, work will start on the Coney Island-bound platforms.

For Manhattan-bound service from the affected stations, take a Coney Island-bound to Bay Pkwy or Stillwell Av and transfer to a Manhattan-bound N, MTA said.

For service to those stations, take a Manhattan-bound to Bay Pkwy or 8 Av and transfer to a Coney Island-bound N.

For New Utrecht Av-62 St, commuters should instead take the D and transfer at 36 St for a Manhattan-bound N.

The renovations include platform and overpass improvements, new stairways, enhanced safety features and upgraded communication systems. The Eighth Avenue station will get ADA-compliant ramps, and four elevators will be installed at the New Utrecht Avenue station for easier access to N and D trains.

More information and travel alternatives are available the MTA website.