NEW YORK (PIX11) -- New Yorkers caught texting while driving will have to pay larger fines.
As of November 1, the maximum fine for a first-time offense is $200. The previous fine was $150. A second offense within 18 months will be punishable with a maximum fine of $250 -- up from $200. Any offense afterwards will be fined up to $450.
Probationary and junior drivers with a Class DJ, MJ driver license or learner's permit will be suspended for 120 days on their first offense. A second offense can result in license or permit revocation for at least one year.
Under New York State law, drivers cannot use a mobile telephone or sent text or email while on the road. All offenses are punishable except to call 911 or contact medical, fire or police personnel about an emergency.